Day 5: Dinner

I literally think about dinner multiple times every day.  Not because I love it or look forward to it, but because it is my nemesis.  I have such romantic ideas….I will come home from work early and pour a glass of wine as my husband sets the ingredients on the counter and we start cooking a delicious meal together.  It will look just like all of those colorful, beautiful food pictures posted all over the internet and in cookbooks.  You can practically taste the food just from those pictures.

Then, reality hits me hard.  My husband hates to shop and enjoys cooking even less.  Eating isn’t all that big of a deal either.  The kids may or may not be home at dinner time.  Today they are not.  If they were one would want all things cheese and pasta.  The other hates cheese and only wants chicken….fried not baked.  My oldest is a little more adventurous but she is away at college.  But look at those beautiful pictures I tell them.  Just because it looks good doesn’t mean it tastes good he will say….hmmmm, I bet it does taste good.  So, today I enjoy a quiet dinner alone….pita chips and cheese with a little humus.  Maybe I will become a great chef tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Dinner

  1. I enjoyed the humor within this post. With having an active family of six myself, we are lucky if we are all eating together on a given night. Although I wish we could eat dinners like you described in the first part, at the same time, we are still at a point of loving chicken nuggets, PBJ, and mac and cheese (do they every grow out of this?!) haha. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment