Day 22: Our first house

Our daughter was just shy of 2 years old when we bought our first house.  It wasn’t perfect.  The backyard was slanted, there was pink everywhere (boy did these previous owners love pink), and the siding was blue (no offense but I hate blue siding).  We figured we would be here for about 5 years and then move on.  We changed the pink in our bedroom pretty quickly.  It was quite obnoxious.  Next was the kitchen.  I just couldn’t stand it anymore.  Then the updates slowed for a bit.  We had our second child, and then found out we were going to have our third.  Our family was growing and the house seemed to be getting smaller.  So, we had a decision to make.  Would we be moving on from our first house?  It had only been 3 years.  We liked our neighbors.  My oldest would be starting kindergarten.  But, the house was getting small.  We decided to add on a bedroom and stay.  Bayley loved her kindergarten class, Courtney laughed in the backyard as she played with the neighbors, and Payton was in his crib.  We made the right choice.  Twenty years later and Bayley is still in class, Courtney is taking care of the neighbor’s cats, and Payton is in bed.  Maybe it’s about time we change that pink in our bathroom.

22 thoughts on “Day 22: Our first house

  1. I love the gentle humor in your warm, family story. Also, I can relate- we are in our “starter home”, 36 years later! I’ll bet you have a pink sink and bathtub- do you? Just remember what I tell myself- small houses are all the rage now. And of course I don’t need to tell you because you just told us- love is what matters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are still living in our first house. We have done lots of remodeling over the years. My husband & I know that the yard is a lot of work as we look forward to retirement. My daughter does not understand that we will move out of this house. She’s 29 & will be very upset when that happens. We will see.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This post is perfect! I just bought a house last year, and we’ve been remodeling it since then. Sometimes I don’t think we’ll stay, and other times I decide I won’t have the energy to fix up another house! Your post reminds me that there’s hope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teri, this made me smile. This summer will mark our tenth year in our town home. When we first bought, I thought we would be here for maybe 5 years or so. Before making this purchase I made a list of things I’d change immediately…or so I thought. We have done a few little things, but still have the brass finishes I thought I would have changed year 1. Maybe the start of year 10 will initiate some home improvements. I can not wrap my head around where the time has gone!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The time goes so quickly. I made that same list and after 20 years only 2 things remain…may bathroom and the counter tops have never been upgraded. I think I’m now content to wait until retirement to move. Hopefully, the counter tops will be upgraded before then.

    Like

Leave a comment